The Code of Canons of the Eastern Churches (Latin: Codex Canonum Ecclesiarum Orientalium, abbreviated CCEO) is the title of the 1990 codification of the common portions of the Canon Law for the 23 Eastern Catholic churches in the Catholic Church. It is divided into 30 titles and has a total of 1546 canons. The western Latin Church is governed by its own particular code of canons, the 1983 Code of Canon Law.

"One, holy, catholic and apostolic Church" 

Despite any divisions, we recognize that all our sister churches belong to the one universal Catholic Church. Despite our differences, we all form part of the People of God. Christ is the vine, and we are the branches (Jn 15:5). Christ is the head of the body, the Church (Col 1:18), of which we are all members (1Cor 12:12-27). We celebrate our unity (Gal 3:28) and recognize our diversity (Rom 12:4-8).

What does it mean to be an independent Catholic Church?

Independent Catholic churches are Catholic congregations that are not in communion with the Roman Catholic Church or any other churches whose sacraments are recognized by the Roman Catholic Church (such as the Oriental Orthodox, Eastern Orthodox or Old Catholic).

Also see "CREED" and the "Credo" (on other sites)



Core values

Roman Catholic & Other Catholic


Note: the OFE follows this Canon Code

Also, see "CREED" and the "Credo" (on other sites)

And the Formal code of doctrine and discipline on our blog.